A Little Sincerity Is a Dangerous Thing

Ahem. So once upon a time, I started this media blog. Then I moved to France for a little while, and said blog took a backseat to, you know, living in another country. And while that experience certainly might seem “blog-able,” my feelings about it were too complex to be expressed in that particular format. That said, I kept a regular journal and devoured more pop-culture (Anglo and Francophone) than was probably healthy in an 8-month time span. My work was part-time and there was very little to do in the charming little alpine town where I lived, especially in the winter months. To give you a sense, here are all the movies I watched for the first time while I was abroad:

35 Shots of Rum
Antichrist
l’Arnacoeur
Avatar
Breaking the Waves
Before Sunrise
Before Sunset
The Believer
The Big Lebowski
Bright Star
The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Ultimatum
Crazy Heart
Dead Ringers
Death at a Funeral (original)
An Education
Ensemble, C’est Trop
Entre Les Murs
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Fish Tank
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Gone with the Wind
Gosford Park
House of the Dead
The Hurt Locker
The Informant!
Inglourious Basterds
Jeux d’Enfants
The Last King of Scotland
New Moon
Le Petit Nicholas
Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
Rachel Getting Married
Les Regrets
The Road
A Serious Man
Sherlock Holmes
A Single Man
Soul Kitchen
Up
Up in the Air
The White Ribbon
The Wrestler
Where the Wild Things Are
Whip It

Forty-one movies. Forty-one. That’s not even counting television shows or films I re-watched. My brain should be leaking out my ear at this point.

So now I’m back in New York, and if this time away proved anything to me, it’s that 1) this city is my home for the foreseeable future and 2) There’s nothing I want to do more with my life than write. What that means in terms of my career is yet to be determined, especially given the state not only of journalism, but the economy in general. I know that books, film and television and music engage me more than anything else in the world, and whether or not I’m paid for it, those are the things I want be absorbing—and writing about—as much as possible.

Consider this a statement of purpose.

Leave a Reply

